Home > Books > Need something to read for the holidays? Here’s my 2nd list of (mostly) Sci-Fi and Fantasy Books I read during 2012

Need something to read for the holidays? Here’s my 2nd list of (mostly) Sci-Fi and Fantasy Books I read during 2012

November 26, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

With darkness coming early, the holidays approaching fast, and the weather turning cold lots of people look for something to read in the evening by a crackling fire. So,  I thought I’d share with you my 2nd part of  the list of books I’ve read in 2012. The first half of my book list you can read here.

  1. Wolves of the Calla (Dark Tower #5) – Stephen King (4/5) – This is where -for me- the series changes focus. You will either love or hate the turn it takes, away from the self-contained fantasy story into an (at times) forced attempt by King to make it into his grand Unification Theory of his previous writings. The storyline in itself is a rather predictable rehash of The Magnificent Seven, but the reveal at the end is surprising to say the least.
  2. The Girl Who Played with Fire – Stieg Larsson (3/5) – The Daniel Craig movie really pleasantly surprised me (pleasant feels like a strange word to use regarding the viciousness of the story, but still), and so I decided to read the 2nd book in the series. I enjoyed it, but felt it lacked something. Despite the theme and the brutal events, it’s rather by the numbers.
  3. Song of Susannah (Dark Tower #6) – Stephen King (4/5) – Hard to say what I think about it without revealing too much about the plot. As I said about part 5, from here on out, to me it becomes something quite different from parts 1 through 4…
  4. vN – Madeline Ashby (3/5) – Some clever ideas, but I didn’t care a lot for the writing itself. It’s the type of book where the idea really appeals to me, but in the execution it falls flat.
  5. The Apocalypse Codex – Charles Stross (4/5) – Another visit to The Laundry, and the series just keeps getting better and better. Simply enjoyable as ever. Some new characters get introduced, and I hope they will make a return in the next The Laundry book.
  6. Summer of Night – Dan Simmons (3/5) – Simmons knows how to write, and knows how to create a mood and atmosphere that will suck you in and captivate you. Unfortunately the rest of the story is contrived and worse, the actions of the main characters often feel very unrealistic. It’s easily described as a mashup between “It” and “Stand by me”, but really not as good.
  7. Jack Glass – Adam Roberts (4/5) – Another book by Adam Roberts, with a huge SF concept, without getting too bogged down in the details.
  8. The Dark Tower (Dark Tower #7) – (3/5) Stephen King – The end, this is where you hope to find out what it’s all about. As usual King is very strong in writing the journey, never really so much in coming up with the endings. But if you’ve come this far, you would be foolish not to go through with it to the very end. Roland would surely agree…

Anything you would recommend to me?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 538 other followers

